The 25th International Conference On Machine Learning (ICML-2008)

July 5-9, 2008, Helsinki, Finland

ICML 2008 invites submission of papers on substantial, original, and previously unpublished research in all aspects of machine learning.

We welcome submissions of innovative work on systems that are self adaptive, systems that improve their own performance, or systems that apply logical, statistical, probabilistic or other formalisms to the analysis of data, learning predictive models, or interaction with the environment. We welcome innovative applications, theoretical contributions, carefully evaluated empirical studies, and we particularly welcome work that combines all of these. We also encourage submissions that bridge the gap between machine learning and other fields of research.

ICML 2008 will be held in Helsinki, Finland, July 5-9, 2008, and be co-located with the Uncertainty in Artificial Intelligence Conference (UAI), and the Conference on Learning Theory (COLT), July 9-12.


Friday February 8, at 20:00 GMT
(noon in San Fransisco, 3 pm in
New York, 8 pm in London)
Full paper submissions due (no separate abstract due date)
Monday March 17: Reviews available
Wednesday March 21, 20:00 GMT: Author responses due
Monday April 7: Tentative author notification of acceptance
Friday May 2, at 20:00 GMT: Final camera-ready version due
July 5: ICML Tutorials
July 6-8: ICML Conference
July 9: ICML/UAI/COLT Joint Workshops Day
July 10-12: UAI Conference and COLT Conferences

Format of the Conference

The conference will include three days of technical presentations, one day of tutorials and one day of workshops. Accepted papers will each have an oral presentation as well as a poster in an evening poster session. There will also be talks by several invited speakers, and a banquet.


Awards will be given for Best Paper(s), Best Student Paper(s) (first-authored by a student), Best Application Paper, 10-year Best Paper (most influential paper of ICML 1998).


Submission has closed. Paper submission page

Submission format, details and style files:
Latex and MSWordicml2008stylefiles-jan5th.zip

Review Process

Papers submitted to ICML 2008 will normally be reviewed by three (but at least two) referees. Authors will be given the opportunity to provide short feedback to the reviews before the final decision is made. Reviewing for ICML 2008 will be blind to the identities of the authors.

ICML 2008 will not accept any paper that is substantially similar to another paper that is currently under review or has already been accepted for publication in a journal or another conference. Please clearly indicate which contributions are novel and which are previous work, either by the authors or others. If a paper submitted to ICML2008 and another already published or already submitted paper contain substantial overlap in content and the content is not clearly indicated (anonymously) as being previous work then the ICML submission may be rejected on the grounds of being a dual submission. Authors are also not permitted to submit their papers elsewhere during ICML's review period.

For workshops, see the ICML, UAI and COLT joint call for workshops at http://icml2008.cs.helsinki.fi/workshops.shtml. Calls for papers for the workshops will be issued later.

For tutorials, see the call for ICML tutorials at http://icml2008.cs.helsinki.fi/tutorials.shtml.

Program Committee Chairs and Senior Members

General Chair
William Cohen Carnegie Mellon University
Program Chairs
Andrew McCallum University of Massachusetts Amherst
Sam Roweis University of Toronto & Google
Senior Program Committee
David Blei Princeton University
Leon Bottou NEC Laboratories America
Michael Bowling University of Alberta
Carla Brodley Tufts University
Wray Buntine Australian National University
Joaquin Candela Microsoft Research
Michael Collins Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Nello Cristianini University of Bristol
Luc De Raedt University of Freiburg
Pedro Domingos University of Washington
Peter Flach University of Bristol
David Forsyth University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Johannes Fuernkranz Technical University Darmstadt
Lise Getoor University of Maryland
Mark Girolami University of Glasgow
Amy Greenwald Brown University
Russ Greiner University of Alberta
Carlos Guestrin Carnegie Mellon University
Sven Koenig University of Southern California
Neil Lawrence University of Manchester
Ryan McDonald Google
Steven Minton Fetch Technologies
David Page University of Wisconsin
Diona Precup McGill University
Carl Rasmussen Cambridge University
Nicholas Roy Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Sunita Sarawagi Indian Institute of Technology Bombay
Lawrence Saul University of California San Diego
Dale Schuurmans University of Alberta
Michele Sebag Universite Paris-Sud
John Shawe-Taylor University College London
Nathan Srebro Toyota Technological Institute
Richard Sutton University of Alberta
Yee Whye Teh Gatsby Unit, University College London
Luis Torgo University of Porto
Manfred Warmuth University of California Santa Cruz
Max Welling University of California Irvine
ChengXiang Zhai University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Alice Zheng Microsoft Research